Hold on, did Chelsea's second goal yesterday actually cross the line? It looks like it in this picture
Thanks to this latest bit of evidence, maybe we should all lay off Martin Atkinson over how he handled the disputed second goal at Wembley yesterday.
Everyone, myself included, went a bit mad yesterday when we saw what appeared to be yet another terrible refereeing decision influence a game. From the angles we saw initially, Juan Mata’s goal-bound effort at Wembley for Chelsea against Spurs wasn’t even close to crossing the line, yet it was still awarded by referee Martin Atkinson.
After the game a chorus of voices came out to condemn the decision. Spurs boss Harry Redknapp said Atkinson was “guessing”, Emanuel Adebayor said the lack of goal-line technology was “killing the game” while Scott Parker said it was “nowhere near the line”.
Even Chelsea captain John Terry, who was on the line and in the middle of the action, admitted afterwards that he didn’t think the ball had crossed the line.
But now an intriguing picture of the incident has emerged on Twitter that appears to show the ball did cross the line.
Is it just the angle or was Martin Atkinson’s view similar to this so he didn’t have to consult with anyone when he awarded the goal?
Goal-line technology would have solved this either way but maybe, just maybe, the ref got one right this time.